oh-sweet-pea

guestbook notes email profile random archive diaryland

August 22, 2005 - 1:10 pm

I just finished reading the Mennonite smash hit of the century, "A Complicated Kindness" when I received a phone call from my father-in-law saying that c's grandma is in the hospital dying. It seems so impossible as two weeks ago we drove out to Abbotsford and helped her celebrate her 94th birthday. She's was so healthy and productive something just doesen't seem right. Apparently, all last week she was working 5 days a week, 8 hours a day at her Mennonite quilting bee (like she always does) and was doing fine, but I guess at 94 years of age anything can happen. I'm thinking good thoughts.

I certainly wasn't going to end that last paragraph with my mom's conversation closer of "I'm praying for you", but while I was thinking about c's grandmother, it did cross my mind to send her my prayers along with my thoughts. Of course, I reconsidered because I don't believe in god but that old Catholic upbringing of mine still has pull. My good friend Kristen, who has tried hard to shake of herself of all Catholic ties, says she cannot sleep naked because she feels that it's somehow wrong. In the end, I figure good thoughts are just as equal in terms of effectiveness as prayers are. And for extra powers, I'm keeping my fingers crossed too. C's grandma really is a tiny powerhouse and a pretty awesome lady. My thoughts are with her.

previous | forward