oh-sweet-pea

guestbook notes email profile random archive diaryland

August 03, 2007 - 1:23 pm

I did manage to go to London and definitely gave my mom a hug before her surgery. While the surgery went well, she will need to receive radiation and chemotherapy (via pills not drip) and she may never recover the use of her right hand and wrist ever again. I just returned and I'm glad to be back home. The trip was stressful but I'm so glad I went. I cleaned up the house and did all the cooking and made up a bunch of meals that I froze for use later. I also had a knock-down fight with my dad, but it turned out okay because he appologized right before I boarded the plane back to Vancouver. Nice because I've never known my dad to appologize for anything. Thanks for all of your thoughts. My mom is in amazing spirits. She never once shed a tear or felt sorry for herself. She actually loved all the attention of being in the hospital and felt like she was on vacation the whole time. Despite it being a 6 hour operation on her brain, she was out of the hospital in a couple of days and we went out for walks and last night she went to see the Edith Piaf movie! Today she gets the staples removed from her head.

While away, my computer got delivered back to me. It turned out that it suffered some kind of power failure. Yesterday I turned it on for the first time and it worked like a charm. Then it fell asleep and when it woke it up, the top part of the screen was much dimmer than it should have been. Uh oh. I restarted it and the top half of the screen was still very dim. This morning, however, it looks like it's old self. Fucking computer peice of crap! I've got a ton of work to do, so hopefully, it won't die on me soon. I just called the repair station and they said to just bring it in again. I'll wait until the work flow stops for a while. Sigh.

Oh long weekend, I long for you. I welcome you with open arms.

previous | forward