oh-sweet-pea

guestbook notes email profile random archive diaryland

March 11, 2004 - 8:52 pm

i've got some tough decisions to make and they revolve around money. i hate that! right now i feel like i'm doing well. i've got savings, i've got 2 jobs and i've got cheap rent. it's easy for me to put money towards our dream house/condo fund right now. the way things are now, i can save and have enough spending money to not make me feel like i'm scrimping. but i really hate my one job -- well, it's not like i really hate the job, i just hate that i'm working for a temp agency and it's been that way for over a year. how temp is that? it makes me feel awful giving up half my paycheque to some stupid agency that does nothing but remind me how little i am making. sure, i only work at this job 2 days a week, but it's driving me batty. i never did any graphic design work before, so this was an excellent learning experience. i like my boss and my coworkers and i'm pretty sure that if there is work 6 months down the line (that's when the company can legally hire me as a contract worker and not be breaking their commitment to the temp agency), i'll get hired and make an excellent wage. it's just that i'm working on contract for another job the rest of the week and there is no stability there at all. i like that job too, but who knows what could happen in the future. probably nothing, but then again who knows.

if i do quit this job, i can use the extra time to take a course to learn quark or more about the printing process. and of course, apply for better full-time jobs.

i dunno what to do. quitting would make my heart feel better but would put my future planning on hold.

previous | forward