oh-sweet-pea

guestbook notes email profile random archive diaryland

January 03, 2008 - 12:51 pm

It's an impossibly grey day outside. I have to turn on the lights in the mother-fucking daytime and it's casting a shadow over my state of mind. I think 2008 will be a great year. I have high hopes and plans to get better organized and get shit done. But on a day like today - when I have work (oh so tedious work) looming - I would rather just lie back in bed and read or watch some tv. It's a weird week. Is it a holiday week or not. All the ad agencies I work with are closed until Monday...but many of my other clients are hard at work wanting revisions, changes, edits. I'm working, I'm getting things done, but slowly.

Last night we went out to dinner to celebrate C's birthday. I had plans for a new Mexican restaurant but was foiled when they were closed until next week (gah!), so instead we fell back upon an old favorite. Unfortunately, there was a line-up and we waited. And waited. When we finally got seated, we waited some more. After we ordered we waited a whole bunch more and then after a whole freaking hour (or maybe even more!), my meal came. They made a mistake with C's dinner, so we just started on mine. We finished up with my plate when his arrived. We got our meal half price. Fuck. Why did we put up with this shitty service? Is this place just so hipper than thou (oh it teems with hipsters like no place else) that they figure their clientele would not dare say a word? Is bad service something to just put up with? What do you do when you receive bad service? Whose fault is it? The restaurant was super busy so it could have been the kitchen or the server or a lack of staff. Who knows. Will I go back? Maybe, but not for a while. I'm a whimp who doesn't like to complain. I'll just hold a grudge for awhile.

previous | forward