oh-sweet-pea

guestbook notes email profile random archive diaryland

June 17, 2006 - 10:44 am

The other night Cornelius' parents called to say they were leaving for a 2 week vacation. After he hung up the phone with them, we were left with one thought: PARTY! Yes, I swear we aren't seventeen year olds. It's just that they have the best lawn ever for croquet and horseshoes and a bbq and their home was a 1970's bordello at one time. It's crazy ugly/awesome. So I whipped up a quick invite and the specifics and although I made Monday the rsvp date, I've only heard from 1 friend! C'mon! This is why I hate parties - well, at least the ones I host. I'm afraid no one will come and I'll return to that sad little insecure girl I thought I had repressed. Dammit, wouldn't you come to my party?

The joy I have for hosting parties is that I can decorate and cook and make blender drinks. Since this will be a mississppi luau, mint julips & pina coladas will be served along with coconut cupcakes and pecan pie tarts. And of course, there will be lots of pineapple and grass skirts and red & white gingham tablecloths. Yup, I'm a mini-Martha when it comes to planning. I'm just keeping my fingers crossed that people will show! It's also kind of our first wedding anniversary (actually, we got married on the 25th, but the 24th is close enough) and what better way to celebrate it than with the people you love (and hopefully love you back).

previous | forward