oh-sweet-pea

guestbook notes email profile random archive diaryland

June 09, 2006 - 9:05 am

It's been a busy week. On Monday, Cornelius and I played so tennis, so that we could be pros for next monday's initial game of the Strathcona Leisure Club's Tennis Night. Unfortunately, we will not be pros. We are quite the opposite in fact = we are bad tennis players. We could only volley the ball 4 times at most. Pathetic! But it was fun...and I'm sure it will be even more fun with friends and beers and gelatos afterwards.

At the end of last week, I got a new short term contract job. It paid well and I managed to complete the project a few days before the deadline. The clients were pretty pleased, I think. I also did something I've never done with clients before. I took an extra step and set up a meeting to discuss layout of the web project. Their main goals were accessibility and usability, so I decided to actually sketch out a layout with them around so I could be sure how all the information would be laid out before I started in on Photoshop mockups. It really turned out to be a brilliant way to work. So when I finished the photoshop mockups, there weren't many revisions but the sketching also had the bonus of my clients gaining trust in me & my work. An unexpected plus.

I had another client meeting on Wednesday and I discovered that I had a flat just before I was set to leave my house. When I returned from the meeting, I decided that I should be the one to fix my flat...after all, I did take a basic bike mechanics class the previous month. So I took off my wheel and headed to the park across the street. I figured it would take a while, but I didn't imagine it would take as long as it did. I was in the park for about 2 hours! After I found the hole and patched it, I put my wheel back together only to realize the tube wasn't holding air. I had missed another hole! So I found the culprit, patched it and got everything going smoothly. I felt good that I was able to do it fix myself but I'm also reassured that "bike mechanic" will never be in my job description because I'd never make any money at it.

Last night was my friend's birthday. We went out and I ate filet mignon for the first time in my life! Mmmmm, like butta it was! We then played some pretty great board games and ate birthday cake. Tonight, we won't be doing anything so decadent, but there will be more board games, so I can't complain.

Hello, weekend, I am ready.

previous | forward