oh-sweet-pea

guestbook notes email profile random archive diaryland

March 10, 2006 - 10:30 am

Last night I made the best cookies ever. I read alot from my new library holds that came in and then watched the Daily Show and the Colbert Report. Afterwards, I went back to reading and chatting with Cornelius and then suddenly as he was explaining some kind of computer programming execution problem he was having, I gasped. I looked out the window and it was like someone upstairs was shaking a feather bed. Snow! In Vancouver!! It was so beautiful and unbelievable. We really don't get much of a winter here and I do love a bit of that white stuff (um, snow) now and then and it's all to rare out on the Wet Coast. I went to bed with visions of sugar plums dancing in my head.

When I awoke this morning, there was still snow on the ground but I can see that it's already melting fast.

I'm in a good mood and because I can't have you over for tea and cookies, I can at least share with you my cookie recipe. Totally yummy and easily vegan (if you swing that way).

double chocolate oatmeal cookies
3/4 c flour
1/4 c cocoa powder
1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1/2 c butter, softened (or use a vegan margerine to make these cookies fully vegan)
1/2 c sugar
1/2 t vanilla extract
2 T oats (I used quick oats, but slow oats would work just as well)
1/4 c semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350�F. In a medium bowl, sift together the first 4 ingredients. In a seperate bowl (or use your mixer), beat butter, sugar and vanilla until fluffy and well blended. Slowly add flour mixture until combined. Mix in oats and chocolate chips.

2. On a prepared cookie sheet (I covered mine with silpat), use a tablespoon to drop balls of dough onto the sheet, about 2 inches apart. Slightly flatten tops with fingers.

3. Bake cookies until center is slightly firm , about 14 minutes. Cool on sheet.

* It really is best to let these cookies cool on the sheet because when they are warm they are very crumbly and prone to break in half.

previous | forward