oh-sweet-pea

guestbook notes email profile random archive diaryland

December 24, 2005 - 2:25 pm

my christmas thoughts

So many people are switching to those LED xmas lights and tho I've thought it's a good idea to save on energy costs, it's still doesn't have the same ol' xmas excitement. Houses just look a bit depressed (the dark blue ones especially) and when you squint at them (really, the best part about xmas lights) they don't get blurry and pretty. This year, they have new kinds of LED lights that change colour -- from green to red and from blue to violet. Instead of squinting you can just blink at them hard and then see the opposite colour tracers. Not the same, but I'll take what I can get.

---

We're listing to Sandinista by the Clash cuz there is just something Christmasy about that album. Especially the song "Hitsville UK". I don't know what it is.

---

This morning, we drank lots of coffee with Bailey's Irish Creme and then we threw some Bailey's into our waffle batter. Yummers!

---

What is with this pineapple express weather we are having? It's warm enough to not wear a winter jacket and I've reverted to wearing my fall jacket even when riding my bike. C'mon, a bit of sparkley frost would have been nice! (Tho I do love the term "pineapple express" a whole lot as I have visions of trains pulling loads of yummy pineapple my way!)

---

I used to love Christmas in my Ontario town when i was of the drinking age -- prior to the age 19, Christmases weren't so swell. We'd have our pathetic xmas dinner where my dad was grumpy the whole day and wouldn't talk or even say thank you to all my mom's hard work in the kitchen. After dinner, me and my brother would head to my friend Craig's house and we'd drink crazy cocktails in his basement and then cab it to the local bar, where they'd have a Christmas night 80s music dance party. $6 pitchers but because we knew the bartenders they'd hand them over to us for free. We'd dance and smoke and get totally drunk and run into all our friends who also escaped their family hell-holes. Seriously, those were fun times!

---

This is a totally dead year for xmas cards at our house! We've only received 7 cards this year. Lame-o. I'm sure we'll receive more cards when we meet up with our friends on Boxing Day, but still....Don't people send out mail anymore?

---

I hope that everybody has a warm and twinkly Christmas!

previous | forward