oh-sweet-pea

guestbook notes email profile random archive diaryland

October 18, 2005 - 9:07 pm

I'm definitely sick. I left work an hour early, rode my bike home in a daze, stumbled into bed and woke up 2 hours later. I also had 2 hours worth of work in my inbox designing a card for a client and now I'm finished with that. Back to being a sick person again, which means watching the Gilmore Girls non-stop on dvd (thank you library). How come I didn't listen when someone said this was a good show? I'm hopelessly addicted. Sorry.

Last night after work, as I was feeling fine, I headed off to my weekly Monday night bowling league. Despite the fact that 2 of our team members were mysterious no-shows, I did my best to uphold our league average and kicked serious butt. I bowled a "turkey", which means for all of you non-bowlers out there, that I bowled 3 strikes in a row! I also managed to follow it up with 2 spares. Yup, a turkey and a bag to take it home in. Whooo! Beer definitely worked to my advantage last night and lived up to it's name as "aiming juice".

But a funny thing happened after bowling...as Ryan, Ben and I hopped on our bikes, Ryan decided to be all fancy and show-off-y and did a maneouver that landed him splat on the pavement. Riding close on his heels, I ran over his tire before steadying myself and managed not to fall. Like some kind of demented ambulance clockwork, 2 crazy young buddist guys came bounding out of the dark and started doing wacky reiki hand moves all over the fallen Ryan. It seriously was like Buddist Twin Powers Activate! They even did their little reiki demonstration over me asking "do you feel anything?", uh, nope. Ah, Commercial Drive, you just gotta love it.

As requested, here is my soup recipe. I made it up based on what I had and it turned out yummy. enjoy.

butternut squash & apple soup

1 small butternut squash
1 granny smith apple
1 onion
1 T butter
3 cloves garlic
water to cover
vegetable bullion
1 t thyme
1/4 t cinnamon
1/4 t ginger
1 t cumin
1 t corriander
1 t red pepper flakes
1 T curry paste
salt to taste

Melt butter into a heavy pot. Add the cubed onion, garlic and apple to the pot and saute until translucent and soft. Add a dash of salt. Add cubed squash to the pot and mix in all the spices and the large blob of curry paste. Cover the vegetables with water/bullion and let simmer until squash is soft and the mixture is fragrant, about 30 minutes. Taste and reseason if necessary. Puree and serve with a dollup of yogurt.

previous | forward