oh-sweet-pea

guestbook notes email profile random archive diaryland

September 23, 2005 - 5:45 pm

Oh my goodness, I am so close to a paycheque that I can almost taste it. Hurry it up already! Did you know that since I have gotten back from our honeymoon I have only received 1 piddly cheque for a teeny tiny job that netted me a grand total of $200. Yes, for almost 2 months I've been living on that and have been letting Cornelius pay for all the groceries and rent and necessities. But do not fret (I'm trying not to!), I should be receiving a bevy of pay cheques (4!) very soon. I can almost feel real life and independance catching on my heals! I can't wait.

In other money-related/career matters, I am now "talent" for the world's largest creative placement agency. 2 weeks ago in a fit of desperation, I figured that I should finally fill out the daunting web application on their website and hope for the best. Sitting in my pyjamas in the middle of the day I had nothing to lose. Yesterday, I had an interview, all went well and I signed a contract. Hopefully, they will bust their ass to find me work.

Since I've been working at my old graphic design job, my mind has registered all kinds of things that I've missed lately: social interaction (even of the corportate office environment type), urban life, wearing clothes and the like. Yup, working from home has kinda hermitized me and it's nice to get out of the rut. It's nice to pull on a cute wool skirt paired with cute shoes! Plus, all of this work has left me with a nice bit of self confidence. It's good to get that feeling back.

Next week, will be more work (both freelance and in the office kind of work) as well as I'll be volunteering for the vancouver film festival. Yes, another reason why I'm thankful for my "flexible" schedule! But in the meantime, I'll be hanging with the boy and playing board games with my friends. Hello weekend.

previous | forward