oh-sweet-pea

guestbook notes email profile random archive diaryland

February 12, 2004 - 8:45 pm

i just made my valentine for cornelius tonight. it's pretty cute, if i do say so myself. i didn't have any red paper so i had to rely on my old standbys: pink and brown. i did have some fancy red foil that i crushed up and then smoothed out and cut into a heart.

i took me about an hour to make and it got me to thinking about being a kid and how fun it was giving out valentines. my mom would buy me the kind in the big book and i would pore over each valentine and figure out which valentine each classmate would get. my friends got the cute ones, the boys i liked got the ones that didn't give too much away and the people in class who i didn't like got the ugly meaningless ones. i remember dropping the valentines in the pink and red decorated cardboard box in the morning and being on pins and needles until they were distributed in the afternoon. when i got home i'd lay out all the valentine's on my bed and scrutinize every message. i remember getting one card from some boy i didn't like and the valentine read: "valentine, you grow on me". eewwwww! even then, i knew that was the creepiest card in the book.

last year's valentine's day was great. this year c is beyond broke, so it will be a very simple affair (and yes, you can read that as cheap). i'm feeling a bit sick and i hope it doesn't get worse but if we spend the whole day in bed, i'm not going to complain.

i know valentine's day isn't until saturday, but in the words of outkast, "happy valentine's day".

previous | forward